2016/17 Jonathan Speirs Scholarship winners announced

June 06 2017 — by Karina Armburg Jennings
Congratulations to Eleanor Connolly and Martyna Marciniak who have been named joint winners of this year's Jonathan Speirs Scholarship.
L-R: Eleanor Connolly, John Roake (Chairman of JSSF), Martyna Marciniak
L-R: Eleanor Connolly, John Roake (Chairman of JSSF), Martyna Marciniak
Eleanor is a student of the Royal College of Art, London and Martyna is completing her studies at the Bartlett School of Architecture, University College London.

While the two winning scholars showed strengths in different areas, they both conveyed equally high levels of passion and creativity and showed a clear understanding of the importance of light in architectural design. They were also keen to explore the influence of light on human perception and emotion.

The additional award this year was made possible by an extremely generous donation from Lucifer Lighting. This was alongside the contribution they made in their role of ‘Benefactor’. The Trustees are extremely grateful as ever to all the Benefactors, Sponsors, Contributors and Supporters who regularly make donations to the fund.

The Jonathan Speirs Scholarship Fund was set up in 2012 at the behest of the late Jonathan Speirs to allow a student of architecture to investigate the study of architectural lighting design. You can find out more on their website.